Skip to Content

National Health Service

The Network

The North West Children's Major Trauma Network supports professionals working with children to improve outcomes for all children who have experienced a Major Trauma.
The Children's Major Trauma Network Team is based at Alder Hey Children's Hospital Liverpool and Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital. Please contact us for any issues concerning Children's Major Trauma in the North West of England.

The constituent parts of the network are -

Pre Hospital Services Ambulance and Air Ambulance Services

The main transport service is provided by the North West Ambulance Service (NWAS). Children will also be brought on occasion to the Major Trauma Centre’s from neighbouring transport services for example Wales Ambulance Service, East Midlands Ambulance Service. Air Ambulance services are provided by the North West Air Ambulance Service.

There is a well established North West and North Wales Paediatric Transfer Service (NWTS). The NWTS service is part of the North West Childrens Major Trauma Network . This service provides advice to Trauma Team Leaders in the emergency department of the Trauma units within the Network for time critical transfers if required. A benefit of the NWTS service is that some of the anaesthetists and intensivists employed by NWTS also have posts in the ChMTC’s or TUs.

Trauma Units

The following are designated Trauma Units for Children -

Cheshire and Mersey

• Arrow Park Hospital
• Leighton Hospital
• Countess of Chester Hospital
• Southport and Ormskirk Hospital
• Whiston Hospital
• Warrington Hospital

Greater Manchester

• Royal Albert Edward Wigan
• Royal Oldham
• Salford Royal Hospital
• University Hospital South Manchester
• Stepping Hill Hospital Stockport

Lancashire and South Cumbria

• Royal Preston Hospital
• Royal Blackburn Hospital
• Royal Lancaster Infirmary
• Blackpool Victoria Hospital
• Furness General Hospital

Local Emergency Hospitals

Within the Network there are a number of hospitals which are not designated Trauma Units but do receive children who have major trauma These hospitals are important members of the network . These hospitals may receive children who may self-present and on triage or assessment fulfil the criteria for major trauma pathway. The other types of patients who present to these hospitals are non-accidental injuries with varying medical presentations.

These hospitals include -

Greater Manchester

• Royal Bolton Hospital
• Tameside General Hospital
• North Manchester General Hospital
• Fairfield (Bury) General Hospital
• Tameside General Hospital
• Rochdale Infirmary
• Macclesfield Hospital

Lancashire and South Cumbria

• Burnley Hospital
• Chorley Hospital

North Wales

• Ysbty Gwnedd (Bangor)
• Ysbty Glan Clwyd (Bodelwyden)
• Wrexham Maelor

Isle of Man

• Noble's Hospital

Major Trauma Centres

The two Major Trauma Centres serving the North West of England are Alder Hey Children's Hospital, Liverpool and Royal Manchester Children's Hospital.

Alder Hey Children's Hospital receives direct admissions from the areas of and transfers in of children from Cheshire and Mersey Hospitals, Blackpool, Lancaster, Furness Hospital , North Wales and the Isle of Man.

Royal Manchester Children's Hospital receives direct admissions from the areas of and transfers of children from Greater Manchester, Blackburn and Preston.